A Look Back at STLDGA’s 2017 Season

By January 11, 2018 November 11th, 2018 Champions, News, winners

Sunday, April 23rd, was a beautiful day at beautiful Forest Hills Country Club for the Geiss Two
Man Four Ball Championship. The Bogey Hills team of Jeremy Reidelberger and Ryan
Behrmann shot a 5 Under 67, and that score was matched by the Old Hickory team of Dan
Emrick and Chris Kovach. The Bogey Hills team birdied the first playoff hole to walk away with
this year’s Geiss title.

The Bob Cochran Mid-Am Championship, held annually at Fox Run Golf Club on the Monday
after Mother’s Day, was another spectacular day for weather and golf. Alex Cusumano, from
Norwood Hills, posted an early 71 that held up thru the remainder of the day to capture this
year’s Cochran Championship. There were 5 runners up shooting 72, including Brevin Giebler
(Dalhousie), Jeff Johnson (Bogey Hills), Matt McGrath (Greenbriar), Ryan Schuenke (Quincy),
and the 2016 Champion, Skip Berkmeyer (Legends). In the Net competition, David Diemer
(Greebriar) and Gary Hill (Old Hickory) shot Net 67s to capture Net honors.

This year’s District Challenge was rained out on its original 4/26 date, and the host Glen Echo
Country Club was kind enough to reschedule for 5/24. The host club, Glen Echo, captured the
team honors with a score of 127. The team consisted of Mike Herbig (Professional), Skip Fierro
(Superintendent), Nathan Calcari (District Rep), and John Cocking, Jr. (Board Member). In the
Pro Purse event, Garth Bayer (Old Warson) captured honors with a 70, beating JD Auping
(Bellerive) in a score card playoff. There was a four way tie for honors in the Superintendents
flight, with host Skip Fierro (Glen Echo), Justen Patterson (Legends), Dustin Jaspering
(Persimmon Woods) and Greg Burdieck (CC of St. Albans) all shooting Net 71.

The Etzkorn Pro-3 Senior event this year was held at Persimmon Woods Golf Club, who
graciously agreed to host on short notice after the devastating fire at Bogey Hills in February.
That Thursday, June 29, started as a beautiful summer day, only to have a thunderstorm roll in
during the mid-afternoon. Despite a two hour rain delay, the remaining teams completed play,
with the last flag going in the hole just short of 9 PM. The Old Hickory team, consisting of Brett
Moomey, John Ricci, Joe Richardson, and Matt Burke, shot a team score of 123, to capture this
year’s trophy. The Bellerive team of Mike Tucker, Andy Frost, Rick Meyer, and Pete Ramey
finished one stroke back.

This year’s Hardin Junior Championship was held at Sunset Country Club on July 10-11.
This year’s champion was Sunset’s own Ray Winter, posting a two day score of 152. Runner up
in the 16-18 Yr old category was Steven Wendling, Jr. (Westborough), shooting 154. In the
14-15 Yr. Old group, Josh Heidenry (Greenbriar Hills) was medalist, with a two day total of 151,
while Tyler Linenbroker (Forest Hills) was runner up with a 155. In the 12-13 Yr. Old flight, Ian
Blome (Whitmoor) was medalist, shooting 156, while Alexander Zhang (Norwood) posted a 160
score, as did Kal Myers (Greenbriar Hills). In the 11 & Under flight (9 holes each day), Charlie
Kramer (Greenbriar Hills) and Owen Farley (St. Louis CC), both shot 80, with Owen winning the

The Griesedieck Men’s Championship was held at beautiful and historic St. Louis Country Club during the hottest weekend of the year. During the stroke play portion of the event, the Co-
Medalists were Chris Kovach (Old Hickory) and Van Pierce (CC of St. Albans), both posting a two day total of 139. The remaining 14 Match Play participants were Drew Denton and Buddy
Allen (Dalhousie), Skip Berkmeyer (Legends), Ryan Schuenke (Quincy), Conrad Maloney, Brian Hall and Craig Hardcastle, Jr.(Persimmon Woods), Frankie Thomas. Parker Goldman and Bryan
Bohme (Meadowbrook), Phil Caravia and Alex Cusumano (Norwood), Toppie Hogan (Old
Warson), and Kyle Szyhowski (Whitmoor). After some great weekend matches, Skip Berkmeyer
captured his fifth Griesedieck Men’s Championship, after a great match with Parker Goldman,
winning 4 &3.

The Salomon Father/Son Championship was held at Whitmoor on August 4. The reigning
champions, Justin and Paul Hemings, captured their second Salomon Championship, shooting
a 4 under 67. In the 13 & Under Flight, Dan and Sam Emrick (Old Hickory) were medalists,
shooting a 2 Under 69. In the 14-15 Yr. Old Flight, Jay and JT Williamson (Bellerive) captured
honors with a 78. In the 16-17 Yr. Old Flight, Pat and Ben Tyrell (Sunset Hills) shot a 2 under 69
to win their flight. In the 24-34 Yr. Old Flight, we had 3 teams tie with 70s, including Brett &
Dennis Sollberger and Kris and Tim Jakel (Sunset Hills), and Tanner and Kent Dinsdale (Bogey
Hills). And in the 35Yr. Old + Flight, Alex and Kit Nowicki (Forest Hills/Winghaven), shot 71.

This year’s Cassett Senior Championship was held at Lake Forest Country Club on August
23-24. The course held its own, with this year’s champion, David Bremer (Old Hickory),
shooting even par 144 to take home the Senior Trophy. Buddy Allen (Dalhousie) was runner up
with a one over par 145. In the Super Senior Flight, Bob Trittler (Persimmon Woods) captured
the title with a 7 Over 151. Clark Amos (Old Warson) was Runner Up, shooting 156. In the Net
competition, Jerry Thomas (Old Hickory) was champion with a net 140, while the Super Senior
Net Champion was Steve Weinstock (Westwood).

The Benson Two Man Championship was held at Meadowbrook Country Club on September
12-13. In the Gross Four Ball Competition on Day One, Didier Villard and Chris King (Lake
Forest) shot a blistering 7 under 65. Close behind was the Old Hickory team of David Bremer
and Joe Timpone, the Sunset Hills team of Steve Hyten and Matt Lewis, the team of Tom Sinak
and Buddy Allen (Meadowbrook/ Dalhousie) and the team of Skip Berkmeyer and Bob
Beckmann (Legends/Meadowbrook). In the Foursome competition of Day 2, the Bremer/
Timpone team shot a 67 to capture the title, while the Berkmeyer/Beckmann team fell one
stroke short to finish in the Runner Up spot. In the Net Competition, Dave Diemer and Jeff
Marquitz (Greenbriar) captured the Net Championship with a two day total of 133.

And the season ending Jim Jackson Invitational, held annually at Algonquin Golf Club, was
October 21-22, hosting a great field of club champions and past champions of the Jackson.
This two day stroke play event saw some great competition. On Day 1 Drew Pranger (Glen
Echo), led the way with a 3 Under 68. Jamie Harrell (Algonquin) and Jim Holtgrieve (Bellerive)
were close behind shooting 70. Day 2 weather conditions worsened during the round, but
Pranger held on to capture this year’s championship, shooting a two day total of 140. Drew
Denton (Dalhousie) and Heath Peters (the reigning champion from Westborough), recorded two
day totals of 144.

Thanks to all who participated and special thanks to all the clubs for hosting our events. We
look forward to a great 2018.