Skip to main content

Behrmann Wins The Cochran

By May 16, 2023July 26th, 20232023, Champions, News, winners

Sixty Nine players teed it up for this year’s Bob Cochran Mid-Am Championship
at beautiful Bogey Hills Country Club. Bogey’s Superintendent Chad Fetter
somehow managed to keep the rain away prior to the start of the event, allowing
the players to play the ball down and allowed the carts on the fairway. After a
brief shower at the start of the round, it turned out to be a beautiful day with
some great golf being played.
Fifty Two players participated in the Open Division, playing the course at 6500
yards, with the course at a Par 71. Bogey’s Ryan Behrmann, using years of
experience at Bogey’s slick greens, posted a two under Par 69. to capture this
year’s honors as the Mid Am Champion. Skip Berkmeyer (Legends), playing in
the group behind Behrmann, was tied with Ryan until a costly double bogey on
the last hole cost Skip, and he finished second at even Par 71. Chad Hull, from
Lake Forest, won a scorecard playoff over Dalhousie’s Buddy Allen, to capture
third place, with Allen finishing fourth, both shooting 72. Persimmon’s Ryan
McNeil won a scorecard playoff shooting 73, against fellow member Andrew
Ganey from Persimmon Woods. Well played, gentlemen. Their top five finishes
get them an automatic invite to the Jackson Invitational at Algonquin Golf Club
in October.

In the Net Only Division, 17 players teed it up from 5974 yards. Again, local
knowledge prevailed, with Bogey’s Bob Cissell posting a one over Net 72,
edging out Algonquin’s Jamie Sheffield by a stroke. Keith Hanson, from
Westborough finished third with a Net 76, and fellow member from Westborough
Steve Dioneda, shooting a Net 77.
A special thanks go to Cochran family members, grandson Chris Bence, and
Bob’s daughter Bonnie Bence and son Bill Cochran for attending the
championship and presenting the trophy to our champion.
As always, the Bogey Hills team did an outstanding job hosting the event. Many
thanks to GM Angel Likens, Head Pro Ryan Roy, Assistant Pro Maggie Smith,
Chris Tsevis, the Club House Manager, and Chad Fetter, Superintendent and
District Rep Jeff Nagel for their efforts in making this year’s event outstanding.
And we can’t run these events without our team of volunteers to help us event
after event.

Click Here For Full Results