Skip to main content

Glen Echo Brings Home The Etzkorn

By July 1, 2021July 10th, 20212021, Champions, News, winners

Twenty Nine teams teed it up for this year’s Etzkorn held at beautiful Westborough Country
Club on Wednesday, June 30th. The weather cooperated for most of the day, while a lightning
delay in the late afternoon left 4 teams still on the course. After about an hour delay, the teams
headed back out and Mother Nature was kind enough to wait until the last putt was made on
18 before the skies opened up with yet another drenching rain.
In the Team event, the Glen Echo team of Pro Mike Herbig, Jim Storey, Andy Acker, and Wayne
Klenke shot a blistering 18 Under Par 118 to capture the Etzkorn Trophy.

Westborough had 4 teams in the event as they always do, and the Westborough team of Pro Jim Miali, Humphrey Cook, Dave Gruenbacher and Denny O’Neill posted an early 15 under par 121 to finish second.
The Legends team of Skip Berkmeyer (playing as the Pro on their team), and teammates Mike
Collins, Pat Crider and John Siebert finished third, highlighted by Siebert’s Hole in One at Hole
15 playing 156 Yards. They won a scorecard playoff against the Old Hickory Team of Pro Brett
Moomey, John Ricci, Joe Richardson, and Denny Wall.
In the Professional event using Stableford scoring, Host Pro Jeff Field captured the honors,
racking up 45 points, to beat out Skip Berkmeyer’s 43 points, with Brett Moomey finishing third
with 42 points. Well played, Pros!
Many thanks to Jeff Field and his staff, Superintendent Tim Allen for having the course in great
shape, and the Food & Beverage staff for putting out an excellent lunch for the players
following play. And, as always, a big Thank You to the Westborough membership for hosting
this year’s event.

Click For Full Results